An Open Letter to, well, Everyone

Dear Fellow Earthlings,
We live on an amazing planet in an astonishing universe. We live in fascinating, rapidly-evolving times. With the passage of time, we are able to see further into both the known universe and the intricate, intimate details of atoms and cells. We can move from one end of the planet to another in less than a day’s time. An average person can communicate instantly to almost any location and see in real time what’s happening somewhere else; even on a space station. We are able to see and explore with unprecedented ability. Yet one thing we cannot discern: the human heart. Not the organ in our chests, but the place where intellect, will and emotion meet and become one.
It is this place that I’m concerned with today. Despite all of these advances, we still have difficulty reconciling all the information we take in. So instead of taking a posture of humility with all that is presented to us, we begin to draw caricatures that safely guard us from those things that cause tension in our understanding. This would be fine if we were dealing only with facts and figures, but most often, these areas of tension involve real people- people who have different backgrounds, beliefs and come to different conclusions than we do on the same issue. “Polarization” is the word that best describes what I see in our discussion of nearly any topic, be it politics, economy, social issues, religion, science, sports, entertainment or any other idea that can be spoken of. We cast people of differing views to an extreme pole; positive or negative, north or south. When we do that, they become more or less the enemy.
It’s much easier to push someone off to a pole than it is to engage in honest dialog. It’s only natural to seek to be understood. It takes desire and effort to seek understanding. Add to this the technology with which we can spread not only our thoughts about an issue, but attacks on the individuals who don’t agree with us and you get a society that’s divided and at war with one another. Most of us would claim to be peace-desiring people, but no matter where you land on an issue, it’s “peace on my terms- and if you don’t agree with me, I’ll disregard acting peaceably toward you.” So here we stand: eye for eye and facebook status for facebook status.
I have friends on nearly every side of every debate that’s out there. I don’t see the caricatures that are blasted at me. I see Atheists who have a deep reverence for life and creation. I see gay people who are committed to one another, many for life. I see Christians who embrace people that have been rejected by society. I see republicans who care for the poor and give generously of themselves to help. I see homeless people trying to get a job and get on with life. I don’t know these people who are broadcast onto my screen and painted with broad strokes. I know individuals- each one unique; each one of equal value. Please don’t forget that each issue consists of people; and make peace by walking forward with care and openness.
I am not trying to say you shouldn’t have views that you cling to; I have many strongly-held beliefs and convictions. I like to discuss, listen and sometimes even argue about them. But we can argue without fighting. We can disagree without demeaning. At least I hope we can. It’s not up to governments and institutions to fix the state of things. It takes individuals. If we want to see real change and progress in this world, we must change the tone of our conversation. It doesn’t matter who hit first- stop hitting each other!
So to all my friends: let’s commit to doing better. Let’s treat others the way we want to be treated. Let’s wage peace and learn how to talk face-to-face instead of throwing stones from a distance. Let’s beat our swords into plowshares and begin to till the soil of understanding. For God’s sake, or humanity’s sake, or whatever it takes to help us change our ways- let’s do better.
Sincerely,
Lucas Allen
PS- To my Christian brothers and sisters: We should be leading the way in this. I don’t know how we got hijacked into taking offense at everything that happens around us and demanding the rest of the world live up to our standards, but I don’t see that in the life of Jesus or the early church. If I began citing scriptural references to illustrate how we’re supposed to treat others, interact with the world around us, honor authorities, etc. it would fill another page at least. I at least know I don’t see any verses that say it’s a holy thing to be a jerk. Simply put: Love your neighbor as yourself.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “An Open Letter to, well, Everyone

  1. […] Red Door BlogRed Door PodcastEmail NewsletterSpiritual PracticesFacebook The Acts of the Apostles: Opening Up (Part 9) by Lucas Allen For the summer of 2012, we are studying the book of Acts in hopes that the life of the early church might inform our life as a new community. In part 9, Lucas explores how the early church guides us into opening our lives to the work of the Holy Spirit. For complete text of the “Open Letter to, well, Everyone” that Lucas reads in the beginning, see here. […]

Leave a comment